NYC Chocolate Tour with my favorite lady! Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Since I am a HUGE chocoholic, the minute I saw an Amazon Local deal for a chocolate tour, I did not hesitate to purchase two tickets.  The description stated it was a two-hour tour with eight tastings, which was enough to get my mouth salivating. After checking the Great New York Tours website to book a date, I was able to see the 8 places that would be visited during the tour. The description read as follows:

Chocolate Tour Itinerary

  • Chelsea Market One of New York’s best kept secrets and a foodies dream, this place is soawesomeit’scrazy!
  • Lilac Chocolates Roaring twenties candy shop remains cult fave, a fine selection of homemade mocha truffles, maple walnut fudge, chocolate cream rolls and the almond bark is to die for!
  • Chocolate Bar Chocorgasm pioneer Alison Nelson brings the real taste of chocolate to the West Village!
  • Magnolia Bakery It’s a crime to go to NYC and not try one of these cupcakes!!
  • Milk & Cookies No chocolate tour would be complete without a warm baked choc chip cookie.
  • Bisous Ciao Luxurious and chic French macarons inspired by Paris and created in downtown NYC
  • Xocolatti’s Soho’s newest and most innovative chocolatier, try the mango paprika slate and see what the fuss is about
  • Pasticceria Bruno The best chocolate Cannoli in New York. Period!
  • Vosges Designer chocolates spiced with an array of exotic flavors ranging from allspice to ginger to hemp seed to wasabi!

Recently, my mother tasted a delicious banana pudding from Magnolia Bakery and has been dying to go into the city for more. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to surprise her and invite her for an afternoon in the city. The only thing she knew was to wear comfortable shoes, do not eat to much and be ready to catch a 3:57pm train into Penn Station.

The tour would leave promptly from Chelsea Market at 5pm rain or shine and we would walk around the Meatpacking District & Greenwich Village. After checking in with the tour guide, I finally revealed the surprise to my mom, “We are going on a CHOCOLATE Tour!!!” She was beyond surprised and after guessing all day, she realized she was no where near being right.

me and momma!

me and momma!

Now I will recap the tour in the order it took place:

1) Li-Lac Chocolates located at 40 8th Avenue (at Jane Street), New York, NY 10014. We sampled their butter crunch and 72% extra dark chocolate drops. My mom liked the butter crunch and since I LOVE dark chocolate, I preferred the 72% extra dark chocolate piece.

first stop- Li-Lac Chocolate!

first stop- Li-Lac Chocolate!

IMG_3830 IMG_3831

their famous butter crunch

their famous butter crunch

hand-made squares of Almond Toffee are coated in milk chocolate and covered with Almond dust.

hand-made squares of Almond Toffee are coated in milk chocolate and covered with Almond dust.

72% extra dark chocolate

72% extra dark chocolate drops made with West African beans

IMG_3835 IMG_3836 IMG_3837 IMG_3838

2) Chocolate Bar– located at 19 8th ave, nyc btwn Jane & w 12th. This was hands-down my favorite place. We sampled their milk chocolate espresso (mom’s favorite) and their signature sea salt dark (my favorite).

IMG_3839

Chocolate Bar

Chocolate Bar

IMG_3841

CAFE CON LECHE & SEA SALT DARK

CAFE CON LECHE & SEA SALT DARK

IMG_3843 IMG_3844

3) Magnolia Bakery– located at 401 Bleeker Street, New York, NY 10014. I was genuinely surprised we each got to sample and entire chocolate cupcake. I normally HATE cupcakes, but these were on point from the cupcake down to the frosting.  My mom and I also went inside to purchase Magnolia’s FAMOUS banana pudding, which consists of layers of vanilla wafers, fresh bananas and creamy vanilla pudding (my mother had fell in love with previously at a barbecue). Once we were inside we decided to bring back a red velvet cupcake for my sister (who loves cupcakes).

Magnolia Bakery

Magnolia Bakery

IMG_3846

rich moist chocolate cupcakes with a smooth velvety texture and dark chocolate flavor, chocolate buttercream and assorted sprinkles.

rich moist chocolate cupcakes with a smooth velvety texture and dark chocolate flavor, chocolate buttercream and assorted sprinkles.

mom enjoying her Magnolia cupcake!

mom enjoying her Magnolia cupcake!

4. Milk & Cookies– located at 19 Commerce Street, New York, NY 10014. I had previously been here when my friend Steph and I decided to find the best cookie in NYC. This place was generous as well and allowed us each to sample an entire double chocolate cookie. By this point my mom and I were getting pretty full so we decided to split one and save the other for later.

0808131755

Double Chocolate cookie

Double Chocolate cookie

5) Bisous Ciaolocated at 235 Bleeker Street, New York NY 10002. This was my second favorite place. I’ve always heard people rave about macaroons, but I have never actually tried one. After sampling their dark chocolate macaron, I fell in LOVE. It was scrumptious from start to finish. They also had other great ones I promised I would go back for, such as espresso, salted caramel, green tea and lavender honey.

Bisous Ciao

Bisous Ciao

0808131809

assortment of delicious macaroons readily accessible

72% dark chocolate macaroon

72% dark chocolate macaroon

6) Pasticceria Bruno– located at 245 Bleecker St (between Carmine St & Leroy St), New York, NY 10014. According to the tour guide, this place is known for their cannolis and actually beat out Bobby Flay in a “throw down.” Expectedly, the cannolis were as FABULOUS as predicted 🙂

Pasticceria Bruno

Pasticceria Bruno

the FABULOUS cannolis

the FABULOUS cannolis

7) Xocolatti’s located at 172 PRINCE ST, New york, ny 10012. This is the latest addition to SOHO, bringing the most innovative and exotic handcrafted truffles. We tried their mango paprika slate, which was UNIQUE and SPICY.

Xocolatti

Xocolatti

mango paprika slate

mango paprika slate

0808131848 0808131848a

8) Vosges Haut-Chocolat– located at 132 Spring Street, New York, NY 10012. This was the final stop of our wonderful chocolate tour. We sampled their Oaxaca Exotic Chocolate Bar, which consists of guajillo & pasilla chillies + Tanzanian bittersweet chocolate, 75% cacao.

Vosges Haut- Chocolat

Vosges Haut- Chocolat

0808131858a 0808131859

Oaxaca Exotic Chocolate Bar

Oaxaca Exotic Chocolate Bar

0808131901

After an two hours of walking around in the rain, tasting what I LOVE best- chocolate, the only thing I can say is, it was definitely worth it. I had such an AMAZING time, tasted rather unique flavors, visited trendy places, met wonderful people from all over (from Texas, Connecticut and NYC), had a knowledgable tour guide, and finished the tour stuffed to the gills.

 

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NYC Chocolate Tour with my favorite lady! Follow my blog with Bloglovin

  1. Madge says:

    It’s hard to find your posts in google. I found it on 19 spot,
    you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to get more visitors.
    I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo
    tips and tricks

  2. Jorg says:

    I read a lot of interesting articles here.

    Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know
    how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality,
    SEO friendly articles in seconds, just search in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

