Fab Finds Friday 6

Hey hey hey!

These are my top 3 favorite products and current obsessions for the week:

PhotoGrid_1371263000988

1) Trader Joe’s Tri-color quinoa– I went food shopping with my mom last Sunday and decided to pick up some quinoa because it has truly become my latest obsession. I planned on making/finding a good quinoa burger recipe and making my quinoa beet salad . I used the extra quinoa to have with my salads or to eat for breakfast in place of oatmeal. This quinoa was absolutely fabulous and I LOVE how it was tri-color. If you haven’t already tried making quinoa, give it a shot! It is soooooo simple and healthy. You just rinse and drain 1 cup of quinoa under cold water then add 2 cups of water and bring to boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook until all water is absorbed, for about 10-15 minutes.

Trader Joe's Tricolor Quinoa

Trader Joe’s Tricolor Quinoa

2) Madhava Organic Coconut Sugar– I have significantly lowered the amount of sugar I intake on a daily basis. I have gone from using Splenda (college years) to raw sugar to stevia and now I don’t use either of these. When I bake, however, I have no choice but to use some sort of sweetener. I used to use organic light brown sugar, but I recently discovered this little gem due to my love of coconut. Coconut Sugar is sustainably grown and produced from the flower buds of coconut tree. It is a great to use when baking due to its 1:1 replacement for sugar and it actually has naturally occurring nutrients including magnesium, potassium, zinc, iron, B vitamins and amino acids. I recently used it to make brownies from scratch and let me tell you… they were a hit!

Organic Coconut Sugar

Organic Coconut Sugar

3) So Delicious Almond Milk Cookies N’ Cream Ice Cream I came across this new discovery while strolling the aisles of Fairway’s ice cream section. I was originally looking for a coconut milk based ice-cream BUT i saw this one and had to try it. 1) I LOVE ALMOND MILK 2) I LOVE COOKIES N’ CREAM and 3) IT IS DAIRY FREE!! I decided to bring it over my cousin’s house for a dinner party with the idea of putting it on top of my brownies. Well, we were NOT disappointed! This ice cream was absolutely delicious and only 130 calories/ serving. It had only 4.5 g of fat and 7 g of sugar.
So Delicious Almond Milk Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

So Delicious Almond Milk Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

xoxo,

Mabel

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Fab Finds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

