Foodie Penpal 3

This was the third month I participated in Foodie Penpals.  I have been telling all my foodie friends about how great this program is and encouraging them to try it. Every month you get paired with someone random and someone else gets paired with you. You exchange information and get to know each other’s food preferences in order to put together a good package. You then send it off, while waiting for yours to arrive. With a $15 limit, it amazing how many great things you can find.

May Foodie Penpal Package

May Foodie Penpal Package

This month I got paired with Keira Hand from Austin, Texas. After asking me questions like:

1. Do you have any dietary restrictions of any sort? Vegetarian?? vegan? gltuten free etc? Allergies?
2. are you generally speaking more of a sweet or savory person?
3. Do you prefer more snack items or things you can use to make meals? I.e sauces/spreads etc
4. If you could eat any food on the entire planet for the rest of your life what would it be?
5. is there anyone sharing your foodie delivery with you that I could get something extra special for? boyfriends, husbands, roommates, general fantastic people?

Keira sent me a GREAT package, which included crunchy chickpeas, dark chocolate, an aloe drink, nuts and a bar.

SAFFRON ROAD Bombay Spice Crunchy Chickpeas

SAFFRON ROAD Bombay Spice Crunchy Chickpeas

One of my favorite things Keira sent me were the Bombay Spice Crunchy Chickpeas. I like chickpeas, but I have never tried anything like this before. This is a great snack and it actually has 6g of protein per serving. I LOVED the Bombay Spice flavor and I must admit these were highly addicting. I actually asked Keira where she purchased these (she got them at Whole Foods) because I definitely plan on purchasing more. I would also like to try the falafel flavored ones.

Cherries & Almond in Dark Chocolate

Cherries & Almond in Dark Chocolate

Another item, Keira sent me was Chocolove Cherries & Almond Dark Chocolate. I thought it was funny because my foodie penpal from last month sent me the Chocolove Raspberries in Dark Chocolate (I guess great minds think alike). I LOVE dark chocolate so I will eat anything dark chocolate combination except if it has mint, orange or peanut butter. 

Almonds with Cranberries and Glaze

Almonds with Cranberries, Honey and Sea Salt

I have previously tasted something similar to these almonds with cranberries, honey and sea salt. It reminded me of the glazed almonds from Starbucks. The combination sounded great so I was excited to try them, but unfortunately they tasted a bit stale. 

Bumble Bar Organic Sesame Bar Lushus Lemon

Bumble Bar Organic Sesame Bar Lushus Lemon

I am not a fan of anything lemon flavored unless I am cooking with it (ex. chicken or fish). Keira sent me a Lushus Lemon Organic Sesame Bar. The ingredients were unbelievable and I really wish I liked lemon because this would have probably been one of my favorite things. This bar was vegan, organic and gluten- free. My mom LOVES sesame and lemon so I gave it to her. She absolutely loved it so I had to ask her where she bought it (again she said Whole Foods). The brand of the bar was Bumble Bar and because I thought it was such a great bar I decided to check their website to see if they had other flavors. They actually had a ton of flavors I would LOVE to try such as amazing almond, chocolate crisp, chai almond, awesome apricot and classic cashew. I have not had any luck finding it at the Whole Foods or Fairway near me so I may have to go into the city to see if I can find some there.

Peach Kiwi Coconut Water

Alo Peach Kiwi Coconut Water

Although I love anything coconut, the one thing I have no been able to enjoy regardless if its from a fresh coconut or from a bottle is COCONUT WATER! I don’t know why but I just cannot enjoy it. When Keira sent me the Alo Peach Kiwi Coconut Water and Aloe I decided to give it another shot. It was by far one of the best ones I have tried. It had pieces of aloe pulp floating around. According to the bottle it was 85% Pure Coconut Water and Aloe and 15% juice. The ingredients were natural coconut water from concentrate, aloe vera juice, aloe vera pulp, peach juice, kiwi juice, citric acid and vitamin C. I don’t think I would ever purchase this, but I’m glad I tried something different.

Keira, was yet another FABULOUS foodie penpal. Can’t wait to see who I get paired with for the month of June.

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

