Sweet Beet Quinoa Salad

This Monday I was invited to attend a dinner party in Huntington, NY. Of course I could have just showed up with a bottle of wine, but since my friend is a big foodie I wanted to contribute something a little more thoughtful. I knew she was preparing an assortment of burgers including veggie, chicken and beef as well as dessert, which was a homemade cookies & cream and coffee ice cream cake. One of the girls going was making her signature salad, another one was making her special bruschetta and another was making her delicious almond sesame cookies (my favorite of the two) and lemon ricotta cookies. I decided I wanted to make a side dish to accompany the burgers using…. QUINOA!! I absolutely love quinoa and have been wanting to come up with a few recipes, so I concocted my first official one this Monday 🙂

Sweet Beet Quinoa Salad

serving size: approximately 6-8

0520131554

Ingredients

-1 c of quinoa (I used the Trader Joe’s tri-color quinoa)

– 2 c of water

– 3 beets (roasted or boiled)

– 2 handfuls of organic baby spinach

– 1/2 red onion

– 1/2 c of cranberries

– 1/2 c of walnuts

– 1 lemon

– 1 tbsp of vinegar (I used Bragg’s raw apple cider vinegar)

– 1 tsp of coconut oil

– 1 tsp of turmeric

– 1 tsp of black pepper

Directions

1. Rinse quinoa then bring to boil 1 cup of quinoa with 2 cups of water in a pot. Cover quinoa and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes on low heat. ** Once it is cooked, remove from stove and set aside.

Trader Joe's tri-color quinoa, cooked

Trader Joe’s tri-color quinoa, cooked

2. Chop 1/2 red onion,  3 beets, and 2 handfuls of spinach separately

1/2 red onion, chopped

1/2 red onion, chopped

3 beets, chopped

3 beets, chopped

2 handfuls of spinach, chopped

2 handfuls of spinach, chopped

3. In a skillet, melt 1 tsp of coconut oil. Add onions and wait until they brown a bit, then add beets.

onions and beets

onions and beets

4. Stir onions and beets around and then add spinach.

5. In a large bowl combine quinoa, walnuts, cranberries. Stir and then slowly pour in onion, beets and spinach. Stir it all together, add vinegar, the juice of one lemon, and spices.

walnuts

walnuts

cranberries

cranberries

6. Taste it and be prepared to impress the guests

0520131554c

What are your favorite quinoa combinations?

xoxo

Mabel

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Delish Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Beet Quinoa Salad

  1. web page says:

    I will immediately seize your rss as I can not find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

