A Girlie Saturday and a Kick Ass Sunday!

I have come to the conclusion that I LOVE Saturdays!! This Saturday my friend Kristy and I spent the day together doing girlie things and indulging in delicious food.We woke up at 7:30am and went for a freestyle spinning class and a kickboxing class at Hot Ryde in Rosyln, New York.  Unfortunately, when Kristy and I arrived the spinning class was booked. Since we had an hour to spare I suggested we check out a place I’ve been meaning to try called Grassroots in Glen Head, New York (about 10 mins from studio). 

0504130843-1 0504130843a 0504130843b-1 0504130843cKristy and I decided to split a whole wheat muffin and a breakfast bar so that we can get the best of both worlds. My favorite was the breakfast bar, which contained oats, raisins and nuts. It tasted like a great bowl of oatmeal with toppings in a bar form. Kristy liked the whole wheat muffin. It was the perfect size, the outside was well done and the inside was soft and filled with nuts and craisins.

Breakfast bar (my favorite)

Breakfast bar (my favorite)

whole wheat muffin- perfect size, well done on the outside and soft and hearty on the inside!

whole wheat muffin- perfect size, well done on the outside and soft and hearty on the inside!

After our kickboxing class (a major sweat sesh), Kristy and I went home, showered and met up for lunch at Bee-Organic in Great Neck, NY. I have been dying to try this place for about a year now. It was everything I expected and beyond. The food was absolutely amazing, along with the service.

the sell different organic products

the sell different organic products

0504131247a 0504131247b

I ordered  quinoa with sautéed veggies warm salad ($8.50). It was basically a bed of quinoa, dressed with sautéed zucchini, sweet peppers, tomatoes and onion with fresh spinach piled on top.

Quinoa with sautéed vegetables warm salad

Quinoa with sautéed vegetables warm salad

0504131301a

Kristy ordered an open face veggie burger sandwich, which was DEE- licious! It consisted of a veggie burger, mixed greens, tomato, avocado, spicy tahini cream with chipotle dressing. “The sandwich was a bit hard to eat BUT the veggie burger was absolutely fabulous!” said Kristy.

veggie burger tartine (open sandwich)

veggie burger tartine (open sandwich)

I was craving a cold drink, but unfortunately they didn’t make any of their teas iced. The waitress (who weirdly enough was named MABEL) gave me a unique and refreshing complimentary strawberry, banana and grapefruit smoothie. I have never tried this combination before but i thoroughly enjoyed it!

strawberry, banana, grapefruit smoothie

strawberry, banana, grapefruit smoothie

Once we settled the bill, our next stop was Massage Envy for massages. My mom had given me a gift card for an hour massage for Christmas and it was finally time to use it. Our appointment was at 2pm, but since we were first time customers we has to arrive 15 mins early to fill out some paper work. Since I’ve been lifting heavy weights lately, I wanted to focus on my neck and shoulders so I opted for a deep tissue massage, which releases muscle tissue and loosens scar tissue while lengthening muscles. My masseuse’s name was Momolu, she was friendly and because she specializes in deep tissue massages, she left me feeling good as new. Kristy chose to get a swedish massage because she prefers light pressure and long strokes.

After our massages, Kristy and I were craving something cold. After pondering for about 15 minutes, we decided on Pinkberry. To my surprise, there is one located very close to me in Great Neck, NY (they have been open since February, but this was my first time finding out they were located there). I indulged in a small cup of salted caramel and chocolate hazelnut frozen yogurt with coconut, kiwi, strawberries, toasted almonds and a dash of cinnamon.

Pinkberry!

Pinkberry!

Now, it was time to complete our day with something girls do best… SHOPPING!!! So we went to the outlets out in Deer Park. Kristy bought shoes from Guess, candles from Bath and Body Works, sneakers from Nike and we BOTH bought some candy from It’s Sugar. As always, it was a great Saturday!

On Sunday, I attended a Crossfit class at Crossfit Manhasset with a few people from work. Cara and Ray work there so they coached us through a kick-ass routine. Let’s just say I don’t want to hear the term AMRAP (as many reps as possible), box jumps, wall balls or ring rows any time soon!

routine Cara and Ray put together for us

routine Cara and Ray put together for us

coach Cara

coach Cara

squats

squats

wall balls

wall balls

923070_10201129084780025_998877040_n

deadlifts

deadlifts

pull ups

pull ups

And so I completed this FABULOUS weekend with an amazing dinner. A salad with tilapia and mango salsa YUM-YUM-YUM!

salad with tilapia and mango salsa

salad with tilapia and mango salsa

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

