Green Festival + Earth Day+ Sangria

Green Festival NYC, April 20, 2013

Green Festival NYC,
April 20, 2013

Although my friend Stephanie and I attended the Green Festival in NYC, Saturday April 20th, I still wanted to tell you about my day 🙂 As you can tell, I am a big fan of going to events in the city and usually if I go with my friend Steph whom I don’t see too often… it usually ends in happy hour!

Steph and I posing for Natural Awakenings

Steph and I posing for Natural Awakenings

Upon entering the Javits Center, the first stand we approached was Clif Bar. I normally don’t go for Clif Bars when I am shopping for a power bars, but today they were showcasing three different kinds of Clif Bars.

1) Kit’s Organic, which was a fruit and nut bar (reminded me to my latest obsession –Larabars). It is gluten- free and has 4-7 ingredients at most (CLEAN SNACK alert!)

0420131209a 0420131209c 0420131210

2) Clif Mojo– A sweet and salty trail mix type of bar with nuts, raisins, chocolate etc.

Mojo Clif

Mojo Cliff

3) Clif Bars– the original bar made with 70% organic ingredients

Clif Bar

Clif Bar

Next, we tried a variety of kale chips from Alive & Radiant. My favorite flavors were the tarragon dijon and chockalet chip. We even spoke to the founder of this company, Penny, who said that what inspired her to make these healthy snacks was “a calling.”

Alive & Radiant Foods

Alive & Radiant Foods

One of my favorite companies (with AMAZING chocolate) was Equal Exchange Fair Trade. This company supports small-scale farmers around the world. With the income from Fair Trade, farmers are able to support their families, invest in education and social services for their community.

Equal Exchange

Equal Exchange

Steph and I visited numerous stands which had everything from soy candles, body lotions, mouth wash, coconut ice cream, nuts, vegan cookies,  jewelry, pillow cases, paper made from elephant poop, etc. We even got our downward dog on for a bit before sampling some organic wine 🙂

jewelry

jewelry

yoga led by different instructors throughout the day

Yoga led by different instructors throughout the day

of course we had to sample the wine

of course we had to sample the wine

organic wine

organic wine

0420131320a

Joulebody is a company neither of us had ever heard of. They offer cleanse programs and services as well as delicious meal replacement bars, which contain detox and weight loss ingredients. They even had a demonstration of how to make one of their favorite recipes, which was made right in front of us and was 100% natural. Step-by-step they showed us how to make swiss chard wraps filled with a sunflower seed patay and cole slawABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! (We even got to sample it.)

Joulebody

Joule body

swiss chard wraps filled with sunflower seed patay and cole slaw

swiss chard wraps filled with sunflower seed patay and cole slaw

0420131341aI made two great purchases during this excursion. One of them is the Raw Reserve superfood powder made by the company Amazing Grass. I put a tablespoon of this in my smoothies every morning. It contains tons of great superfoods such as wheatgrass, chia seeds, flax seeds, spirulina, cholorella and 25 billion probiotics per serving.

Raw Reserve

Raw Reserve

The other purchase I made was coconut oil from Nutiva. Besides using it when making omelets in the morning and it being a healthy cooking staple, the best part was the price. It cost me $1.00 (YES… ONE DOLLAR!!!) It was being sold for $6.00 at the festival, but because I took a picture holding the coconut oil and posted it on their Facebook page, I was able to participate in this great deal!

coconut oil from Nutiva

coconut oil from Nutiva

After the Green Festival, Steph and I decided to go shopping for a bit. It was a gorgeous day so we walked quite a bit. Naturally around 5pm, we were ready for some cocktails. We were craving sangria so we decided to go to one of my favorite places Redemption. We started off with a glass of sangria (it was 2 for 1 Saturday), ordered some nachos, followed by another round of sangria.

sangria

sangria

nachos

nachos

Stephanie’s friend, Lauren (her co-worker) met us and we went to another bar on the same block called Session House. We shared a pitcher of red sangria and took shots of Fireball whiskey with the friendly bartender.

steph, me and lauren right before taking Fireball shots

steph, me and lauren right before taking Fireball shots

lauren, steph, bartender, me and funny guy

lauren, steph, bartender, me and funny guy

Lastly, we met up with Lauren and Steph’s work friends at another bar. We indulged in mojitos, sliders, spinach and artichoke dip and dessert before heading home.

0420132213

Once again, it was a GREAT Saturday!!! 🙂

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

