Foodie Penpal 1

20

Since I am an avid foodie blog follower, I have a list of favorites I follow on a regular basis. The Lean Green Bean is a FABULOUS blog filled with great recipes, weekly eats, sunday food prep inspiration and “bean bytes” (recipes, pictures, articles found via different social media platforms). Upon browsing this blog last month I came across a program called Foodie Penpals. In a nutshell, you get paired with a different penpal from anywhere in the U.S. each month and exchange a box of foodie items with a $15 spending limit. This sounded quite interesting, so naturally I signed right up! I was paired with Maeve Bartik, from Ballston Lake, NY. She immediately emailed me after receiving our assigned foodie penpals and asked me questions to create the ideal package. After receiving my package on March 20th, 2013, I was pleasantly surprised! It was the PERFECT first experience with this program, everything Maeve included was thoughtful, different, and DELICIOUS!!

1

Maeve included a beautiful postcard welcoming me to foodie penpals.

2 3

She also included a lovely letter describing everything she included. I will explain each item above the picture and include some of the amazing websites 🙂

1916Most of the items Maeve included were from a local food market. She included DreamPuff Marshmallows. This is her favorite stop at the farmers market she attends on Sundays. She said they included gelatin, but no artifical flavors, colors or high fructose corn syrup. They recently opened a shop. I’m excited to try these!

5

Another item Maeve picked up at the farmer’s market was Mu Mu Muesli. It is like a soft granola with great ingredients such as flax seeds, raisins, dates, almonds, cranberries, coconut and almonds (sounds like heaven). She likes to eat this with yogurt. I definitely will be doing the same 🙂

6 7

The microwavable brownie mix was something I have never heard of before. It is dairy free, peanut free and preservative free.  I plan on making this as an easy dessert next time I have dinner with my cousin, so I will keep you posted 😉

11 12

One of my weaknesses is chocolate and Trader Joe’s definitely has pretty AMAZING chocolate. Remember the cookie dough dark chocolate I found there?! Well, Maeve introduced me to one of her favorites, Trader Joe’s PB & J Milk Chocolate Bar, which I have never tried before. Since I am not a milk chocolate or peanut butter lover, I didn’t really like it, but I was glad I tried it 🙂

8

Another one of my weaknesses are cookies. And let me tell you, since I gave up chocolate AND cookies for lent, it was torture waiting until easter to be able to try these treats. I normally don’t go for any lemon dessert, so I was curious to try these lovely Lemon Thyme Cookies! They are made with basic ingredients and since they are thin, they were rather addicting.

18 10

Lastly, Maeve included a very original foodie find. She found it at the local farm and wrote the instructions on the bag. It was FRESH POPCORN!! I made this the instant I opened the bag, it was probably one of the freshest popcorn I have ever had!!!

17 14

I would like to thank Maeve for this wonderful experience. She clearly took the time to find things I would enjoy and that would suit me perfectly. I will definitely be participating in this program every month, can’t wait to see the April foodie penpal revelations!

15

xoxo

Mabel

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

