Maintaining SANITY during finals

With stress escalating more and more each day due to the dreading finals and never-ending 10-page research papers, the only thing that keeps me sane is food and the gym.

At the end of each week (I consider it Sunday), I go food shopping and make sure I’m fully stocked MONDAY THRU FRIDAY with everything I need. This includes strawberries, bananas, blueberries, and soy milk for the oatmeal or smoothie I make for breakfast every morning AS SOON AS I WAKE UP or eggs, spinach, zucchini, red peppers, and onions for egg white omelets when I’m in the mood. For lunch I make sure I get HONEY MAPLE turkey, LACEY swiss cheese, tomato, and lettuce for my sandwich I have every day at 2pm. And for dinner I make sure I buy a couple packs of frozen vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrot mix), which I steam in the microwave as well as spring mix, avocado, corn (no salt added), sweet potatoes (which I’m obsessed with), cranberries, walnuts, and grilled chicken. As a dressing I use balsamic VINEGAR. Of course, I get things to snack on because I do not believe in the theory most girls stress “all you need is 3 meals a day.” In order to maintain your metabolism you must constantly feed it in between meals. I am big on fruit so I tend to buy granny smith apples, grapefruits, green grapes, pineapples, watermelon (when they are in season), kiwis, and mangos. I also like edamame and baby carrots with hummus (I prefer eggplant hummus- it’s absolutely delish). My weakness is cereal- I literally have no self control, whenever I buy a box it is gone within 3 days and if I’m drunk- forget about it. SO I try to stay away.

My ULTIMATE ULTIMATE ULTIMATE weakness is dessert. I honestly would have it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I could. So I try to find healthier ways to consume it every day without feeling bad. I love the Kashi dark chocolate oatmeal cookies- they are AMAZING and have a lot of fiber; whenever I have those in my presence I cannot and DO NOT resist. I also like Godiva 72% dark chocolate with almonds- usually two pieces curbs my sweet tooth. I like to get the sugar free rice pudding with Reddi Whip fat free whip cream and a dash of cinnamon. Lastly, I have recently discovered Sweet Moment Pillsbury brownie bites- ok they are UNREAL. Located right near the cookie dough, they are ready to eat, which is why I tend to pop these fudgy bites right in my mouth as I’m strolling down the aisles. Obviously I can keep on going for ages about all these little desserts I have discovered, but I want to get to the other thing that keeps me sane as well as makes me feel BALANCED (which is really important to me especially because I am a Libra).

Going to the gym every morning for at least an hour definitely changes my outlook for the day. After having a sweat session of 45 minutes on the stair climber while watching the Kathy Lee and Hoda Show and reading my Cosmopolitan during commercials, I proceed to the weight room. There I have a 15-minute strength training session with a stability ball, a set of 5lb weights, and a BOSU ball. I leave the gym feeling accomplished and definitely needing a shower before I continue my hectic day. While getting ready I tend to play a Youtube playlist with my latest favorite songs or Pandora. I look forward to having my freshly brewed coffee I have just made and prepared the way I LIKE IT (I don’t know if you have realized but as much as I love food, I am really picky about HOW it’s made). I’m usually the annoying girl at the restaurant making specific requests, which is ironic because I’m a former waitress myself. At least I don’t get annoyed when people used to ask me for special requests- I totally get where they are coming from and embrace it because I’m the same way.

Since we are on the restaurants topic- that is where you find me on weekends when the kitchen is CLOSED. Since I go to school in Fairfield, there are tons and tons of delicious food places, but being that I did food reviews for the entire year last year and am constantly exploring the new hot spots, I know my “go-tos” depending on my mood. I recently discovered who has the BEST pasta in town. It is this place called Tomato & Basil that recently opened and all I can say is IMPECCABLE from the food to the service and even the atmosphere. The best pizza award in town goes to NAUTI DOLPHIN. If I’m in the mood for an avocado, bacon, chicken, pesto sandwich pressed on whole wheat bread- I go to Firehouse Deli for the “Red- Gate.” When I feel like having a salad made the way I WANT, why not make it myself at Chef’s Table. SHIKI HANA is where I go to for Sushi hands down. On Fridays, I tend to go for lunch at the health food store in town for called Mrs. Green’s. They have the most delicious portabella mushroom burgers and turkey quesadillas. Free samples are almost GUARANTEED, the people are so nice- especially when they make my food, and THEY HAVE I KID YOU NOT- the BESTTTTTT walnut brownie ever- it’s THICK, FUDGY, BIG ENOUGH to split with your roommate/best friend – “Ashley” and just NOTHING you have ever had before.

So between eating healthy throughout the week with my couple splurges here and there, working out at least 5 times a week, and eating out on weekends (starting on Friday for lunch all the way through Sunday night) that is how I maintain my sanity during the lovely FINALS WEEK.

About funfabdelish

Welcome! My name is Mabel Del Castillo. I am a graduate from Fairfield University. My major was Journalism and my minors were Communications and Marketing. I am obsessed with fitness, beauty, wellness, health and nutrition. I also have a huge sweet tooth. My interests include working out, traveling, dining, reading magazines and books, going on adventures and living a fun healthy life! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and follow me while I discover and indulge in the little bits of life!
This entry was posted in Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

